Municipal Effectiveness Advisory Committee (MEAC) Approved Minutes April 14, 2016

Present: Chair Jane Nicholson (by phone), Vice-chair Byron Mersereau, Bill MacDonald, Brian Bohaker, Issam Mansour, Ron Wesman and Ruth Thorbourne. **Administration:** CAO Greg Barr and Recording Secretary Sandi Millett-Campbell.

Regrets: Councillor Paul Paquette and Alyn How

1. CALL TO ORDER: Chair Nicholson called the meeting to order at 10:05 am.

2. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

MOTION #MEAC-2016-APR-14-1

It was moved by Bill MacDonald, seconded by Councillor Mersereau to approve the agenda as presented. **CARRIED.**

3. APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES – March 10, 2016 MOTION #MEAC-2016-APR-14-2

It was moved by Councillor Mersereau, seconded by Brian Bohaker to approve the minutes of March 10, 2016 as presented. **CARRIED.**

4. **PUBLIC INPUT** – None

5. **PRESENTATION – Harry Jost**

Harry Jost showed a PowerPoint presentation on the Heritage Preservation and the Revitalization of Annapolis Royal by Dr. Barry Moody. Unfortunately Dr. Moody was unavailable to present to our Committee today, so Harry Jost kindly stepped in for him. Chair Nicholson thanked Harry Jost for finding the time to present to the Committee today.

6. BUSINESS ARISING

i. Review of the MPS^1 – Vision and Goals

Chair Nicholson reviewed the current MPS vision. Each member of the Committee discussed their thoughts on the planning vision for the Town of Annapolis Royal. Some of the key topics of the discussion were around the quality of life, the Town should be inclusive to everyone, feeling secure and safe, and the current vision is relevant. The Committee decided on two of their favourites and Chair Nicholson will send out the two revised options for review. Committee members will send CDC² Millett-Campbell with their final choice or a new revised choice for the May meeting.

¹ Municipal Planning Strategy

² Community Development Coordinator

7. CORRESPONDENCE FOR INFORMATION – None

8. ADJOURNMENT

MOTION #MEAC-2016-APR-14-3

It was moved by Issam Mansour to adjourn the meeting at 12:16 pm. CARRIED.

Next Meeting: May 12, 2016 at 10:00 am.

Chair Jane Nicholson

Recording Secretary Millett-Campbell