Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia - Where History Meets Opportunity

Phone: 902.532.2043

Council and Committees

The Town of Annapolis Royal is Nova Scotia’s smallest municipality. It is governed by a mayor, deputy mayor and three councillors, chosen by election every four years. Council and administration are governed by the Municipal Government Act, which can be found at government.pdf.

Regular Council meetings are on the third Monday of every month at 5 p.m., unless otherwise advertised. Committee of the Whole, a working group of council, meets on the first Thursday of every month at 5 p.m., unless otherwise advertised. Special Council meetings may be called as necessary.

Members of the public are welcome and encouraged to attend Council and Town Committee meetings.

Direction of the Minister under a Declared State of Emergency (Section 14 of the Emergency Management Act, the Municipal Government Act, and Halifax Regional Municipality Charter) Effective 2pm on March 22, 2020, discontinue holding their meetings in person, instead only virtual meetings may be held by video or telephone. Those virtual meetings must be recorded, and the minutes posted on a public website within 24 hours of the meeting.

The Town of Annapolis Royal uses Zoom for a meeting platform; Zoom links can be made available to the public. If you would like to attend Council and/or Committee meetings please notify staff by emailing with 24 hours notice before the meeting.

Mayor: Amery Boyer
Deputy Mayor: Pat Power
Councillors: Holly Sanford, Paula Hafting, Michael Tompkins

Share Button